TRPDA - Proof of Insurance Required


257.328 Producing evidence of motor vehicle insurance upon request of police officer; violation as civil infraction; certificate of insurance as prima facie evidence that insurance in force; contents; civil infraction determination; surrendering license unless proof of insurance submitted to court; suspension of license by secretary of state; order; fee; renewal, transfer, or replacement of registration plate; producing false evidence as misdemeanor; penalty; points; section inapplicable to owner or operator of motor vehicle registered in other state or foreign country or province.

Sec. 328.

(1) The owner of a motor vehicle who operates or permits the operation of the motor vehicle upon the highways of this state or the operator of the motor vehicle shall produce, pursuant to subsection (2), upon the request of a police officer, evidence that the motor vehicle is insured under chapter 31 of the insurance code of 1956, Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956, being sections 500.3101 to 500.3179 of the Michigan Compiled Laws. An owner or operator of a motor vehicle who fails to produce evidence of insurance under this subsection when requested to produce that evidence or who fails to have motor vehicle insurance for the vehicle as required under chapter 31 of Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956 is responsible for a civil infraction.

(2) A certificate of insurance, if issued by an insurance company, which certificate states that security which meets the requirements of sections 3101 and 3102 of Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956, being sections 500.3101 and 500.3102 of the Michigan Compiled Laws, is in force shall be accepted as prima facie evidence that insurance is in force for the motor vehicle described in the certificate of insurance until the expiration date shown on the certificate. The certificate, in addition to describing the motor vehicles for which insurance is in effect, shall state the name of each person named on the policy, policy declaration, or a declaration certificate whose operation of the vehicle would cause the liability coverage of that insurance to become void.

(3) If an owner or operator of a motor vehicle is determined to be responsible for a violation of subsection (1), the court in which the civil infraction determination is entered may require the person to surrender his or her operator's or chauffeur's license unless proof that the vehicle has insurance meeting the requirements of sections 3101 and 3102 of Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956, is submitted to the court. If the person submits proof to the court that the vehicle has insurance meeting the requirements of sections 3101 and 3102 of Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956, in addition to the civil fine and costs provided by section 907, the court shall assess a fee of $25.00. If the court requires the license to be surrendered, the court shall order the secretary of state to suspend the person's license. The court shall immediately destroy the license and shall forward to the secretary of state an abstract of the court record as required by section 732. Upon receipt of the abstract, the secretary of state shall suspend the person's license beginning with the date on which a person is determined to be responsible for the civil infraction for a period of 30 days or until proof of insurance which meets the requirements of sections 3101 and 3102 of Act No. 218 of the Public Acts of 1956, is submitted to the secretary of state, whichever occurs later. A person who submits proof of insurance to the secretary of state under this subsection shall pay a service fee of $25.00 to the secretary of state. The person shall not be required to be examined as set forth in section 320c and shall not be required to pay a replacement license fee.

(4) If an owner or operator of a motor vehicle is determined to be responsible for a violation of subsection (1), the court in which the civil infraction determination is entered shall notify the secretary of state of the vehicle registration number and the year and make of the motor vehicle being operated at the time of the violation. This notification shall be made on the abstract or on a form approved by the supreme court administrator. Upon receipt, the secretary of state shall immediately enter this information in the records of the department. The secretary of state shall not renew, transfer, or replace the registration plate of the vehicle involved in the violation or allow the purchase of a new registration plate for the vehicle involved in the violation until the owner meets the requirements of section 227a or unless the vehicle involved in the violation is transferred or sold to a person other than the owner's spouse, mother, father, sister, brother, or child.

(5) An owner or operator of a motor vehicle who knowingly produces false evidence under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.

(6) Points shall not be entered on a driver's record pursuant to section 320a for a violation of this section.

(7) This section does not apply to the owner or operator of a motor vehicle that is registered in a state other than this state or a foreign country or province.

 

History: Add. 1980, Act 459, Imd. Eff. Jan. 15, 1981 ;--Am. 1995, Act 287, Imd. Eff. Jan. 9, 1996 .


2003 Legislative Council, State of Michigan
 

 

Portions of this work are reproduced with permission of the copyright holder, the Michigan Legislative CouncilMichigan statutes are presented on the legislative website (www.mileg.org), without warranties, express or implied, regarding the information's accuracy, timeliness, or completeness. Further, the information obtained from this site is not intended to replace official versions of that information and is subject to revision.